The Council –

The Canadian Pipeliner Accreditation Council (CPAC) was originally established as the Canadian arm of an ad-hoc industry initiative to foster effective implementation of mandatory competency management requirements for North American Pipeliners. Both the Canadian CSA Z662 and American API 1173 industry standards mandate the need to establish competency requirements for personnel working in the oil and gas pipeline sector. These requirements must include the identification of training, qualification and experience required to perform each task. With high demand for standardized criteria to evaluate organizations and personnel, CPAC began working with system prototypes in 2014 working directly with key industry organizations. A publicly available program for industry was then launched in 2016. CPAC operates 4 distinct 2nd party industry support programs which include the Accreditation of Pipeline Training and Testing Organizations; Standardized Code Qualification examinations; Certification programs for Pipeline Inspectors and Fusion Technicians; and a Safety and Loss Management System verification audit program.

CPAC currently administers the Accredited Pipeliner Index. This National Registry has been established in accordance with ISO 17024 guidelines to provide industry with an online, publicly available, credential verification tool allowing companies access to necessary information for validating documentation submitted by personnel and contractors. The security of an individual’s credentials and compliance with privacy laws is a critical concern. Based on recommendations from the 2015-2019 Chairman’s Advisory Group, the index will be updated to include only the pipeliner’s name and certificate number to allow verification against a certificate or secure ID card. With the 2019 update all pipeliners will receive a plastic ID card with anti-counterfeit measures embedded on the front of the cards.

Chairman's Advisory Group
Administrative Service Model
Conformity Assessment Board

The Code –

The Canadian Pipeliner Competency Code is developed with stakeholder input:

  • to establish minimum verifiable knowledge and skill set requirements for mandatory regulatory, code and standard task competencies.
  • to establish competency identification protocols for specific subject matter areas within a Safety and Loss Management System.

The requirements provide recommended subject matter criteria which can also be used by stakeholders for the development of internal training programs and qualification exams. The code is written to provide users with guidance for complying with the requirements of the CSA Z662 Oil and Gas Pipeline Systems document and is likely suitable for use by jurisdictions beyond Canada.

Order Now

International Code and Standard Deviations –

CPAC publishes Canadian deviations to international pipeline documents including RP’s and standards which are not adopted by regulation. These deviations, compiled by Canadian experts allow users to apply recommended practices and standard concepts developed in other jurisdictions using Canadian regulatory references and legal requirements. The purpose of the document(s) is to identify specific clauses within foreign publications which do not comply with Canadian requirements and identify an appropriate corrective measure to ensure suitability for use.

Order Now